Greenses Arabs and Fish Tales (Walk)
Join local Archivist, Linda Bankier, as she leads you on a short walk to discover the stories of the families that lived and worked in the cottages and smokehouses of the Greenses. The Greenses is so called because until the 19th century, although located within the town's medieval walls, much of the land was still open field. From the 18th century, herring fishing was the main occupation for the men of the Greenses during the summer months. In the winter, the fishermen turned to catching cod and haddock with long lines. Every day, each line with up to 720 hooks were baited with mussels and limpets collected and put on the hooks by the womenfolk. Crabs and lobsters were also caught, using pots known locally as “creeves”. The locals were called Greenses Arabs, on account of the men's beards and swarthy complexions acquired from putting to sea in all weathers.
Saturday 16:30 (about one hour) (booking required)
Meet at the corner of High Greens and Bell Tower Place, opposite Holy Trinity School.
A purpose built ammunition store constructed in 1749 to provide safe storage of explosives required by the military garrison at the Barracks. It is built of local sandstone and is surrounded by a high wall. The walls of the vaulted, windowless structure are reinforced by eight heavy buttresses, intended to direct explosion safely upwards. There are ventilators above the entrance steps that allow air to circulate, protecting the powder from damp. The building has a double skinned roof and the main internal safety feature is the total absence of iron to avoid any possibility of a spark igniting the gunpowder. Among the interesting internal features are the original wooden racks.
Friday 13:00-16:00 and Saturday 10:00-16:00 (no booking required)
Near the Lions House on the Walls.