Castle Vale Park, Railway Street, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, TD15 1NF
Join Parks Officer, Kate Dixon in a walk around the parks highlighting edible plants and the parks' history. Also enjoy the wonderful views that can be enjoyed from both parks.
Castle Vale Park was opened in 1931. The land was donated to the town by Mr. John Cairns, a baker who lived next to what is now the park. Originally, the vale was the site of a stream that powered a corn mill. It was designed as a promenading park with a Lily Pond for quiet reflection!
Coronation Park was planted out in 1937 to celebrate what should have been the coronation of Edward VIII. After his abdication, the coronation was that of his brother George VI, our current Queen's father. This park was also the site of a corn mill hence it's local name - "Tommy the Miller's"
With the help of Lottery Funding both parks were restored in 2013, reinvigorating these little known gems near the centre of Berwick. The parks are managed by Northumberland County Council and a very active "Friends" Group .
Saturday 18 September: 11:00
Go to: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/o/berwick-heritage-open-days-34043664105
Booking opens: 9 August 2021 09:00
Booking closes: 18 September 2021 09:00
We can make the walk wheelchair friendly if required but there will be some steep slopes.
This event will run in line with local & national government guidelines at the time of the festival.
Max 15 people per tour/session. Lasts one hour The walk will start at the Lily Pond in Castle Vale Park. Please meet there. Contact for the day: Berwick HODS Team - 07966323231
Check us out on social media:
Castle Vale Park can be accessed via the path near the Railway Station.
Berwick Heritage Open Days and Friends of Castle Parks